School Logo

Forton Primary School

Where All Our Pupils Shine

Contact Details


Welcome to our Governors’ section.

Our Chair of Governors is:

Mr Peter Taylor


Whams Lane,

Bay Horse,



01524 751934


Please find below details of how our Governing body is structured, including the names, categories, responsibilities and terms of appointment for each Governor.

The Governing Body meet at regular intervals each term. Their role is to support and challenge the school and to ensure that Forton School goes on from strength to strength.


NameDate of AppointmentTerm of OfficeAppointed by:-


All governors are part of the statutory and non statutory meetings.

Peter Taylor

Chair of Governors

20/03/20142 yearsCo opted


Standards and Effectiveness

Ruth Ross

Vice Chair

14/12/20174 yearsCo Opted

Standards, Teaching and Learning (Chair)

Standards and Effectiveness

Janet Huddart21/03/20044 yearsLA


Standards and Effectiveness

Child Protection Governor

Annemarie Briggs01/04/20134 yearsLA

Standards, Teaching and Learning

Standards and Effectiveness

Richard Budd1/10/20214 YearsParent GovernorStandards, Teaching and Learning
Joe Douglass11/03/20214 YearsCo optedResources
Rev Canon Peter Ballard01/03/20184 yearsCo optedResources
John Wilkinson29/11/20164 yearsCo optedResources (Chair)
Gemma Walling24/05/20184 yearsParent GovernorStandards, Teaching and Learning
Martin Dean1/10/204 yearsParent GovernorResources
Melanie Braithwaite15/11/20184 yearsStaff  GovernorStandards, Teaching and Learning
Lorna Boase01/09/2014 Headteacher 


Governors who have resigned within the past 12 months are:

Sara Armstrong16/11/20174 yearsParent GovernorResources
Barbara Drayton15/11/20124 yearsCo optedStandards, Teaching and Learning
Julie Garner05/03/20154 yearsParent GovernorStandards, Teaching and Learning


Business and Financial Interests 

NameGovernor at Another SchoolAny relationship to a member of staffBusiness Interests
Peter TaylorNONONO
Janet HuddartNONONO
Annemarie BriggsNONONO
Joe DouglassNONONO
Rev Canon Peter BallardDirector at The Bay Learning TrustNO

DBE Services - Facilities Management and Construction

(Chief Executive)The national Society - Funding and Development of C of E Schools Hon Treasurer)

John WilkinsonNONONO
Gemma WallingNONONO
Richard BuddNONONO
Martin DeanNONONO
Melanie BraithwaiteNONONO
Lorna BoaseApple Tree NurseryNONO



Retired within past 12 months:-

Madeleine BensonNONONO
Barbara DraytonNONONO
Sara ArmstrongNONONO
Julie Anne GarnerNONONO


Attendance at Meetings



Attendance at Meetings

2020 - 2021



Standards, Teaching

and Learning


Full Governing Body



Standards and Effectiveness


Peter Taylor100%Y   Y     
Ruth Ross100% Y  Y     
Janet Huddart100%Y   Y     
Annemarie Briggs84% Y        
Joe Douglass100%N   N   
Rev Canon Peter Ballard100%Y   Y  
John Wilkinson100%Y  Y  
Gemma Walling100% Y  Y  
Richard Budd- Y  Y  
Martin Dean-Y   Y  
Melanie Braithwaite100% Y  Y  
Lorna Boase100%         


Governor Newsletter Summer Term

The DfE require all LA maintained schools to publish annually on their websites the number of individuals (if any) earning over £100K in £10K bandings.

There are no individuals earning over £100,000




In order to guarantee that the budget is spent to best effect, the governors of Forton Primary compare  our school to others by using the DFE  Benchmarking service. A link is below..